top of page
Search

"We choose to go to the Moon"

Updated: May 3, 2021

José Teixeira

"We choose to go to the Moon. We choose to go to the Moon and do the other things. Not because they are easy, but because they are hard".

John F. Kennedy uttered these words on February 12, 1962, to a large crowd gathered at Rice Stadium, in Houston, Texas.

This speech, although it wasn't the first official statement of America's intentions of landing on lunar soil - that was in an address to Congress, on May 25, 1961 -, was intended to persuade the American people to support the Apollo Program.

It worked. Before this speech, the lunar missions were seen as something unnecessary, even random. But after Kennedy's words, the American people suddenly became all for the Apollo Program, and there was a large morale boost on American soil.

I choose to write about this speech because, in my humble perspective, it's one of the best speeches I have ever heard. The way Kennedy articulates his message and captures the audience, making it as passionate as he is about the subject, is just beyond extraordinary to me.

I'll leave a link to the full speech, so you guys can see it for yourselves.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Recap: what did I learn with the blog.

João Neves This is my final text for the blog so I decided to do a recap of the «year» as an especial to end this journey. Initially, my first texts were always based around racism in the United State

The Beatles (part II)

Francisco Anjo Let´s be realistic. One post is not enough to talk about one of the most successful and iconic bands of all time. However, in this post, my intention is not to describe their entire his

My Look on the 1960s

José Teixeira This is it, folks. The last post you'll ever read from me in this blog. As a way to bring closure, I thought I'd do a sort of recap of everything I wrote about in here, and what kind of

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page